20 March marks both International Day of Happiness and one year since Happiful Magazine was launched.

Over the past year, we have covered a wide-range of true stories, explored different therapies and provided support, news and hacks. Our aim is to provide informative, inspiring and topical stories about mental health and wellbeing. We want to break the stigma of mental health in our society, and to shine a light on the positivity and support that should be available for everyone, no matter their situation.

We understand that when you, or someone you care for, is living with mental illness, happiness can feel like a concept that is completely out of reach. We also understand that happiness, like any state or emotion, is changeable and no-one’s journey is ever linear. Happiful hopes to represent every step of that journey and to always show that you are not alone.

Happiful Thoughts…

We’ve been fortunate to work with and speak to some incredible and inspirational people over the past year. Here are just a few of our interview highlights, and their honest words and thoughts.

“You can’t do this by yourself - none of us can. I am where I am now because I did ask for help. We are so trained on the stiff upper lip and getting through it that we forget: none of us is an island.” Juno Dawson

“For Happiful readers I want to say that experiencing a really hard time in life can bring amazing changes, and make you a stronger person, because you’ve been through that stuff.” Lily Jo

“I still don’t feel my true, happy-go-lucky self, but it’s a relief to admit that. Now I don’t need to always say ‘I’m fine’ because sometimes I’m not.” Alexandra Burke

“I’d teach my children to be tolerant. I’m not a parent, but my gut reaction is that if my kid wanted to be Ziggy Stardust one day and Beyonce the next, knock yourself out. I’m very open and accepting and easy around gender and sexuality. I don’t tend to label people.” Anna Richardson

“Women deserve to feel good in their bodies and plus-size women in the industry are pushing boundaries by saying that we need to see more diverse women of different sizes.We also need to see more diversity in regards to disabled women.” Callie Thorpe

“In the 90’s and noughties, the only headlines about mental health were when somebody would kill themselves. Thanks to things like Time to Change and thousands of individual people having their conversations, we’ve seen a shift - I don’t think there would have been a Happiful magazine 20 years ago!” Paul Farmer, CEO Mind

About Happiful

Happiful roots date back to 2005 when our founders, sisters Aimi and Emma, established Memiah and Counselling Directory to help people proactively find their own local mental health support. Over the following years, our other directories were built and developed in the areas of hypnotherapy, life coaching, therapy and nutrition. Happiful magazine arrived in 2017.

At Happiful, we are dedicated to sharing the stories, experiences and support available for the whole of our society. We will work continually to ensure we represent and speak to the broadest audience possible.

Thank YOU for being part of the Happiful Community.